Search…
⌃K
Links

Restored from a backup

What to do if you restored your Webflow site from a backup

The Problem

Webflow has a feature called "restore from backup" that resets your Webflow site to a previous time. When Webflow restores your site, they also reset the IDs of every CMS item. This completely breaks a Whalesync base as we (and other automation tools) use those IDs to know which records to sync.
If you restore from a backup, syncing will stop working and you'll see issues like this:

What Can I Do Now?

Unfortunately, there is currently no way to "fix" your existing Whalesync base once Webflow has reset the IDs. The only option is to delete your existing Whalesync base and create a new one. To avoid creating duplicates we suggest:
  1. 1.
    Delete your existing Whalesync base
  2. 2.
    Delete all the data in one of your two connected apps
  3. 3.
    Create a new Whalesync base and sync again

Process for Airtable and Webflow

If you're using Whalesync to sync Airtable and Webflow, you can either:
  1. 1.
    Delete your existing Whalesync base
  2. 2.
    Duplicate your existing Airtable base (with no records)
  3. 3.
    Create a new Whalesync base and sync from Webflow into Airtable
OR
  1. 1.
    Delete your existing Whalesync base
  2. 2.
    Delete all items in your Webflow CMS and republish
  3. 3.
    Create a new Whalesync base and sync from Airtable into Webflow